Concrete spars and printing-in-place?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Concrete spars and printing-in-place?

First, about me. I'm an aspiring seasteader trying to build on an extremely small / narrow budget, trying to think outside the box. I have some experience with additive manufacturing. I've been thinking...

XLII used a traditional steel spar, with all the materials, welding and transportation costs that includes. What about other material ideas for spars?

I was specifically thinking of 3d printing a concrete cylinder and lowering it into the water as it cures to print additional layers. The trick would be to build a stable motorized support to lower the platform into the water to add additional layers, perhaps on cable or chain?

Infill with poured concrete and/or sand as needed to achieve proper balance of buoyancy.

People are 3d printing houses with this approach, my question would mainly be whether this is structurally sound and whether concrete will survive long term in immersion in ocean water.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtCJKojjxzM

Eric

National Geographic 2017 - The world's longest cable-stayed bridges rion antirion: Rion-Antirion | M

https://youtu.be/YLo2_UFyGcQ

Comment

Concrete cruising yachts realm the oceans for decades and are the cheapest option. No sure about the 3d printing option.
      https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Concrete_ship

https://www.ferroboats.com

Comment

• Barskor
        Barskor commented
        Editing a comment
        Basalt rebar and fiber cloth could make those Ferroboats better as they can not rust and have excellent strength. Magnesium phosphate cements are stronger and don't have the problems with salt water.